Nathalie de Vries (MVRDV) new member of Supervisory Board of Groninger Museum

The Groninger Museum welcomes the advent of Nathalie de Vries (Appingedam, 1965) to the Supervisory Board and Board member of the Stichting Kunstbezit en Oudheden (Foundation for Art and Antiquities). 

Nathalie de Vries is one of the founders of the internationally operating MVRDV architectural office in Rotterdam. In addition, she is a member of the Board of MOTI, the Witte de With Centre for Contemporary Art, and Trustee of IBA 2020 in Berlin. Previously, she was a member of the Board of Het Nieuwe Instituut, chairman of the programme team of BNA Research, Spoorbouwmeester (Railway Architect) on behalf of ProRail/NS, member of the Board of the Stimuleringsfonds voor Architectuur (Netherlands Architecture Fund) and member of the Board of the Advisory Council of the Dutch architectural magazine Oase. Nathalie de Vries also occupies positions in international juries and teaches art Düsseldorf Academy of Art. As an associate professor she was connected to Harvard Graduate School of Design, the Technische Universität Berlin, Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago, the Berlage Institute in Rotterdam and Delft University of Technology.

Andreas Blühm, general director of the Groninger Museum, commented on the appointment: ‘Nathalie de Vries is an excellent addition to the Board because she has a strong national and international network at her disposal. Her governing experience in architecture and design is of major importance to the museum.’

Nathalie de Vries: ‘The Groninger Museum has given the city a genuine boost. In the nineties, everyone in the country wanted to pay a visit to Groningen. Nowadays, the Groninger Museum has become an established institution with its invariably exceptional and surprising exhibitions. I am happy that this position on the Supervisory Board will enable me to work to keep the museum among on the top museums in the country.’

Members of the Supervisory Board 
Besides Noé van Hulst as chairman, the Supervisory Board consists of Inez Boogaarts, Maarten Duijvendak, Jacob Kielman and Henk Pijlman. With the appointment of Nathalie de Vries, Jeannette Sanders-Mol now relinquishes her function. This appointment has taken place in accordance with the Statutes and the agreements that have been with the Municipality and Province of Groningen.